[Review] In The Lonely Hour – Sam Smith

Ok, I can’t lie. I haven’t even heard his full album yet, just the songs he released like ‘Money on my mind’, ‘Stay with me’ and ‘Leave your lover’.  Regardless I had to write a review about his music, because people it is just that damn good. Also I’ve listened to his EPs, so I have a sense of what type of music he does.

If you don’t know who he is, remember that Disclosure song ‘Latch’? Well he does vocals for that. Yeah, he’s the guy.

I am currently listening to his album as I type and he has an insanely good voice. In fact, I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of the musicians coming from the UK. Not too bad.

So why do I like a Sam Smith – apart from his brilliant vocals, he is a solid song writing talent and let’s be honest, there aren’t that many good bands out there at the moment.

Here’s the first song of his I heard:

[Latch – Disclosure feat. Sam Smith]

His album dropped in the US recently, so  here’s some of his new stuff:

 [Stay with me – Sam Smith]

[Money on my mind – Sam Smith]

Lyrics & Vocals – 8.5/10

His lyrics are pretty decent. There was a lot of confusion based on some of his songs that he was singing about dudes. Turns out he was. Who gives a shit, he’s a good singer. That’s what makes him stand out – his amazing voice.

Music – 7/10

There are definite influences of the English dance music scene in his music, so I can’t say it stands out. Still not too shabby.

Overall – 8/10

A definite for the playlist.

Find out more about him here.

 

 

 

One thought on “[Review] In The Lonely Hour – Sam Smith”

Leave a Reply

